As the Qantas debacle was unfolding, someone on Twitter mentioned a website called Keep Qantas Flying.
Being naturally inquisitive, I checked out the registration details of the site. This is what I found out:
Domain Name: keepqantasflying.com.au
Last Modified: 23-Aug-2011 03:23:58 UTC
Registrar ID: Melbourne IT
Registrar Name: Melbourne IT
Status: okRegistrant: LAWRENCE CREATIVE STRATEGY PTY LTD
Registrant ID: ABN 24106211474
Eligibility Type: CompanyRegistrant Contact ID: 57025O1386117
Registrant Contact Name: LAWRENCE CREATIVE STRATEGY PTY LTD
Registrant Contact Email: Visit whois.ausregistry.com.au for Web based WhoIsTech Contact ID: 57026T1386117
Tech Contact Name: Andrew Braithwaite
Tech Contact Email: Visit whois.ausregistry.com.au for Web based WhoIsName Server: b.ns.zerigo.net
Name Server: c.ns.zerigo.net
Name Server: a.ns.zerigo.net[Whois Source: whois.ausregistry.net.au]
Hmmm.
Registered on 23/8/11. The people behind it are either clairvoyant, or…….?
And just who the hell is “Lawrence Creative”, the domain name “owners”? Anyone know how to do an ASIC search?
Another point, as many have pointed out on Twitter and Poll Bludger, is that the Qantas board would never have pulled a stunt of this magnitude without getting some SERIOUS legal advice. I find it impossible to believe that all this advice was sought and given over the last 24 hours.
My own belief, based on the above and other pieces of circumstantial evidence, is that this has been planned for months.
This combined with one of the union leaders stated just that on ABC24 (sorry no link at the moment).
Another thought I had about this, is on Monday morning, when trading commences, the Qantas share price is going to go into freefall (sorry, not a good phrase to use in regards to an airline, but WTF).
Will Qantas shareholders take out class action law suit against the board of directors?
Another matter, if this actually has been planned for a while, why wasn’t it mentioned at the Qantas AGM recently? You know, the meeting that awarded Joyce his $2million pay rise. Can ASIC do something about this?
Lots of questions, but as yet, no concrete answers.
Watch this space, as the “Fat lady” is a long way from singing on this issue.
As always on A Frank View, comments are welcome from others, especially from anyone with further information to add to the picture.
UPDATE:
One of my Tweeps (@victoriavoce) has done an ASIC search, and unearthed the following about Lawrence Creative.
The company was previously called:
07 Pty Ltd, and STW Communications Pty Ltd.
Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t STW one of Channel Nine’s station names?
Then there’s the “07″. Channel Seven connection?
The plot thickens.
http://bit.ly/udHsDr
UPDATE II
It turns out that Lawrence Creative are a PR/marketing firm that previously did campaigns for the Anti-mining tax brigade as well as the campaign for “Kevin ’07″. Now that is interesting. source: Lawrence Creative
UPDATE III
From Twitter:
MightyChewbacca
Do a whois domain search for RedQ.com. You’ll find Joyce’s Singapore based airline has already been registered. Goodbye #Qantas #auspol
Domain details are as follows:
Domain Name: REDQ.COM
Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS57.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS58.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 02-aug-2011
Creation Date: 22-jun-2004
Expiration Date: 22-jun-2013>>> Last update of whois database: Sat, 29 Oct 2011 13:54:16 UTC <<<
[Whois Source: whois.crsnic.net]
UPDATE IV
loobes
RT #qantas staff at head office confirm 5000 redundancy/termination letters printed yesterday….



![59532[1]_page1_image1](http://afrankview.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/595321_page1_image11-697x1024.jpg)